Close this search box.
July 27, 2022

Quiz: Are These Products Gluten-Free?

Think you know gluten-free products and ingredients? Test yourself and discover whether you need a refresher course or if you’re a gluten-free master.

What Does a Gluten-Free Label Look Like?

Bold statements such as ‘Gluten free’, ‘Free from’, and ‘gluten-friendly’ can be exciting to see on shelves. However, it’s still important to check the ingredients list to ensure the claim isn’t too good to be true.

Make sure to double-check each time you shop. Keep a particular eye out for products that are new to shelves, are in new packaging, or that are advertising a new recipe, and especially products that you are trying for the first time. Spending the additional second at the grocery store will ensure a happy, stress-free cooking (and eating) experience later.

Ready to assess your label-comprehension skills? Each ingredient list is from a popular food item from Australia’s well-known grocery stores, Coles and Woolworths. Decide for yourself whether each ingredient list is gluten-free or not, then head to the bottom of the page for the answer, product reveal, and discussion.

Let’s Begin!

  1. Ingredients: Soybean Oil, Water, Sugar, Soy Sauce (water, soybean, wheat, salt), Sesame Seed (6%), Distilled Vinegar, Sesame Oil (2.5%), Egg Yolk, Salt, Yeast Extract, Acidity Regulator (330), Sesame Flavour, Stabilizer (415), Preservative (202), Antioxidant (385), Spices (contains mustard)


  1. Ingredients: Skipjack Tuna (26%), Quinoa (15%), Black Rice (11%), Carrot (11%), Water, Edamame Beans (6%), Red Pepper (6%), Sweetcorn (4.5%), Soy Sauce, Sugar, Red Onion, Vinegar, Garlic, Sunflower Oil, Garlic Powder, Sesame Oil, Orange Marmalade (Orange, Glucose-Fructose Syrup, Sugar, Water, Gelling Agent (Pectins), Lemon Juice), Sesame Seeds, Lemon Juice, Ginger Powder, Chilli Powder



  1. Ingredients: Water, Non Fat Milk Solids (12%), Dried Glucose Syrup, Maltodextrin, Sugar, Low Eruric Acid Rapeseed Oil, Milk Protein Concentrate, Stabilizers (452, 460, 407, 466), Minerals (Magnesium Carbonate, Sodium Citrate, Potassium Phosphate, Ferrous Sulphate, Zinc Sulphate), Emulsifier (Soy Lecithin), Vitamins (C, E, Niacinamide, B6, A, B1, Folic Acid, B2, B12), Flavour.


  1. Ingredients: Water, Coconut Oil (21%), Modified Potato Starch, Maize Starch, Oat Fibre (Wheat Free), Modified Maize Starch, Thickeners (Carrageenan, Guar Gum), Salt, Natural Flavourings, Yeast Extract, Acidity Regulators (Lactic Acid, Sodium Lactate), Colour (Carotenes).



  1. Ingredients: Icing Sugar (Cane Sugar, Corn Starch), Gluten Free Flour , Vegetable Shortening , Hydrogenated Coconut Oil, Invert Sugar Syrup (Cane Sugar, Water), Stabiliser (1412), Egg White, Natural Lemon Flavour (0.1%), Natural Colour (160b).


  1. Ingredients: Mycoprotein (94%), Rehydrated Free Range Egg White, Caramelised Sugar, Barley Malt Extract, Acidity Regulator (Calcium Acetate), Firming Agent (Calcium Chloride).



  1. Ingredients: Cream, Liquid Sugar, Concentrated Skim Milk, Water, Cocoa, Sugar, Wheat Flour, Soybean Oil, Egg Yolk, Invert Sugar, Eggs, Egg Whites, Thickeners (Guar Gum, Carrageenan), Salt, Vanilla Extract, Raising Agent (Sodium Bicarbonate), Malted Barley


  1. Ingredients: Corn, Canola Oil, Lactose (Milk), Salt, Yeast Extract, Flavour Enhancers (621, 951), Mineral Salt (Potassium Chloride), Onion Powder, Spices (Cumin, Chilli, Paprika), Food Acids (Sodium Diacetate, Citric Acid), Tomato Powder, Garlic Powder, Natural Flavours, Natural Colour (Paprika Extract), Sunflower Oil, Antioxidants (Tocopherols, Ascorbic Acid, Rosemary Extract).

Are These Products Gluten-Free?

How did you go? Discover the results below. Each ingredient product corresponds to the number beside the ingredient list.

  1. Kewpie Roasted Sesame Salad Dressing: NOT GLUTEN FREE

Anyone following a gluten-free lifestyle will know the trick behind soy sauce; despite its soy-based demeanour it’s often packed with wheat. It’s also a key ingredient in this Kewpie Roasted Sesame Salad Dressing. Alternatively, regular Kewpie Mayo is gluten-free and several flavoured mayo options contain no gluten-related allergens.

  1. Woolworth’s Asian Style Tuna Quinoa Salad: NOT GLUTEN FREE

This Woolworths Asian Style Tuna Quinoa Salad is an example of an ingredients list that doesn’t list the soy sauce ingredients, but history tells us it’s probably not suited to a gluten-free diet.

  1. Sustagen Vanilla Ready To Drink: GLUTEN FREE

If you’re looking for a high-protein liquid breakfast, this Sustagen Vanilla Ready To Drink option is a great alternative to the popular (but gluten-packed) Sanitarium Up & Go.

  1. Sheese Mature Cheddar Vegan Cheese Block: NOT GLUTEN FREE

This vegan cheese alternative contains oat fibre. Despite claiming ‘wheat-free’, Australian food standards bar any oats from receiving the ‘gluten-free’ label. As a result, Sheese Mature Cheddar Vegan Cheese Block lists ‘Oats’ under its ‘Allergen’ section.

  1. Kez’s Kitchen Gluten-Free Lemon Cream Melting Moments: GLUTEN FREE

No gluten here! Kez’s Gluten Free Lemon Cream Melting Moments are entirely gluten-free and a perfect alternative to Bakers South African Lemon Cream Biscuits.

  1. Quorn Mince: NOT GLUTEN FREE

Quorn Mince vegetarian meat alternative contains barley malt extract. Any ingredient with the word ‘barley’ is a clear sign of gluten. For anyone that follows a gluten-free meat-less diet, Beyond Mince and Cole’s Herb & Sons Beef-Free Mince are both gluten-free.

  1. Ben & Jerry’s Ice Cream Chocolate Fudge Brownie: NOT GLUTEN FREE

A well-loved ice cream brand and flavour, Ben & Jerry’s Chocolate Fudge Brownie contains pieces of brownie and malted barley extract. There is good news though, their Phish Food flavour is gluten-free (with a ‘May contain’ disclaimer).

  1. Doritos Corn Chips Mexicana: NOT GLUTEN FREE

This last entry is a curveball. Although not listing any gluten-containing ingredients on their label, these Doritos Corn Chips Mexicana contain an allergen warning for gluten. The only Doritos branded corn chip that does not come with a gluten warning is Doritos Corn Chips Original.

If you’re looking to feed your corn chip craving, all Mission-branded tortilla chips and corn chips are gluten-free. Always remember to double-check the back of the packet.

How Do I Know If a Product Contains Gluten?

In Australia, gluten-containing ingredients appear in bold on product labels and within the ‘Allergen’ section. All food products in Australia and New Zealand must disclose whether they contain wheat. Companies must list barley, rye, and oats but only if they contain gluten*.

How did you do in our quiz? For more information on the gluten-free diet, check out our articles below.

*All products sold in Australia must follow these guidelines by February 2024.

Item added to cart.
0 items - US$0.00

Sign up to our newsletter to receive a FREE SHIPPING DISCOUNT CODE!

Be the first to know about GluteGuard promos, exclusive recipes and news.

Sign up to our newsletter to receive a FREE SHIPPING DISCOUNT CODE!

Be the first to know about GluteGuard promos, exclusive recipes and news.